Ordinary Mishaps

"Come what may and love it!"

Handicaped Homemaker

So……I have finally decided to bite the bullet and buy my own sewing machine. Yes, it’s true. For those that know me you may ask, as did my husband – “Why? You don’t sew!” Well this is true to some extent, but I have been giving it a go on my levi quilts and baby blankets. More later on just how I came to be somewhat of a levi quilt maker………never and I say NEVER tell me that I can’t do something! LOL oh ‘the girls’ know what I’m talking about!!

This is the picture of the machine I want to put on layaway at JoAnne’s (yes the very store I swore NEVER to enter again). Perhaps I’ll be safe as long as I don’t ask for cotton, coTTon COTTON!  AAAAAAH don’t get me started.

Anyway, if there is anybody out there even reading my blog please post a comment or email me any suggestions. Please note I went with this machine for two reasons. They said it had a ‘non jamming’ bobbin and only 8 stitches to choose from. I’m a person of very limited abilities in the homemaking area…….I try, really I do. My husband refers to me as his Domestic Goddess but I don’t think we’re fooling anyone!! LOL

I’m sure this machine does a few more things but I was sold on the bobbin’ hype. What say ye out there?

It’s the Viking Emerald 116 or 118. Thanks!

April 10, 2010 - Posted by | Blahg, Blahg, Blahg, Project Happiness, Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Looks good to me !! What’s your next project ?

    Comment by Gwen | April 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Well I cleaned out the closet and finally gave up the ghost of fitting back into some of my jeans! So I thought I’d start just making the tops for possibly when the boys get married…….ha ha! I do wonder if buying jeans – some that I’ve worn only a couple times a few with the tags still on them – is it possible that that could be more economical than just buying levi material at the store? You know my hiney….how many yards would that be ………..STOP don’t answer that he he he!

      Comment by ordinarymishaps | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. my DH just ordered a sewing machine tho it’s a bit tuffer.. since he’s a leatherworker… tack saddles..etc

    so what say I? I’ll let you know :):)
    have fun with the process
    gp

    Comment by mtinnkeeper | April 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment